Oklahoma State University Library Logo Banner -- Click 
	to return to the Library's Home page

InterLibrary Services
Staff Manual

Merging Disavowed Customer Records with Their Cleared Customer Record



Merging Customer Records | Reactivating Cancelled Records

  1. Once a customer has entered a valid registration and has been cleared, their cleared record must be merged with their disavowed record.

  2. Select “Edit” from the Menu Bar and select “Edit Customer”.

  3. Enter the customer’s last name. This will retrieve a list of customers records in the box to the right of the “Search for Customer” section. If the customer you are searching for is listed, they have been cleared and can be merged with their disavowed record.

  4. Place a check mark in the “Show Disavowed Users” box and click on the “Search ” button again.

  5. The customer you are looking for should have two records in the list to the right.

  6. Double click on the disavowed record to retrieve that record into the “Customer Information” section at the bottom of the screen.

  7. Click on the “Unclear Customer” button at the right.

  8. You will be asked to confirm that you wish to Unclear this customer and you will then be alerted to the fact that you can now access this customer’s record through the “Clear New Customer” screen.

  9. Close down the “User Lookup and Edit Form”.

  10. Select “Pre Processing” from the Menu Bar and select “Clear New Customer” or click on the “Clear New Customer” button at the left.

  11. The customer you just uncleared should appear in the list at the top left of the screen.

  12. Double click on the uncleared customer’s entry to bring up their record in the “Customer Information ” section below.

  13. This will also bring up that portion of the list of customers which contains the customer’s record on the right.

  14. The current record being viewed in the “Customer Information” section should also have an arrow pointing to their record on the right.

  15. Place your cursor on the disavowed customer’s record on the right and click once with your right mouse button.

  16. This will bring up a pop-up menu. Select “Send to Old User (Merge From)”.

  17. Then, place your cursor on the cleared customer’s record on the right and click once with your right mouse button.

  18. This will bring up a pop-up menu again. Select “Send to New User (Merge To)”.

  19. Now, click on the “Show Disavow/Merge” button at the bottom of the “Customer Information” section.

  20. This will bring up a “Merge Customer Review Form”.

  21. Review the information to see that the information in both the “Old User (Merge From)” and the “New User (Merge To)” section is correct.

  22. If the information is correct, click on the “Disavow/Merge” button. If the information is incorrect, click on the “Cancel” button and start over.

Now, the requests the patron entered under their disavowed record must be reactivated.

  1. Select “Edit” from the Menu Bar and click on “Edit Customer”.

  2. This will bring up the “Search for Customer” screen.

  3. Enter the customer’s last name or other search parameter and click on the “Search” button.

  4. Select the customer from the list at the right by double clicking on their record.

  5. This will retrieve the customer’s record into the “Customer Information” section at the bottom of the screen.

  6. Click on the “Show Requests” button on the right.

  7. This will retrieve the requests entered by that patron into the “General Search Form”.

  8. At the bottom of the screen is a section labeled “Search Returned "X" Records”.

  9. Double click on a record to retrieve the “General Request Information” screen.

  10. Review the “Transaction Status” entry. If it reads “Request Cancelled by ILL Staff”, the request may have been cancelled when the customer’s registration was disavowed.

  11. Look in the “Item Information” section of the screen on the right and see if “Call Number” and/or “Location” has been entered.

  12. If there is no “Call Number” or “Location” information, review the “History” and “Tracking” folders in the “Notes and Tracking Information” section.

  13. If the “History” and “Tracking” folders show only one or two entries, this is a new request and must be reactivated.

  14. Click on the “Change Status To...” button and select “Awaiting Request Processing”.

  15. The request will now be located in the “Awaiting Request Processing” folder and can be handled normally.

  16. Continue reviewing each request until they have all been reviewed.

  17. Some requests may have a “Transaction Status” other than “Request Cancelled by ILL Staff”.

  18. These requests are already active and have already been processed.


ILS Home Page | Library Home Page | OSU Home Page


Last Update: March 08, 2006
Comments to: johnny.johnson@okstate.edu
This page created by Johnny L. Johnson
URL http://www.library.okstate.edu/access/ils/IlliadMergingCustomers.htm