The Henry G. Bennett Distinguished Service Award


Mr. Jenkin Lloyd Jones
Editor and Publisher, Tulsa Tribune

Dean A. McGee
Jenkin Lloyd Jones
William T. Payne

It is appropriate that The Henry G. Bennett Distinguished Service Award be presented to Mr. Jenkin Lloyd Jones, Mr. Dean A. McGee, and Mr. William T. Payne -- individuals who have demonstrated with their hearts, minds, and souls those qualities of character which exemplify the life of the man in whose name the award is made.

Mr. Jones, an outstanding author, journalist, speaker, and citizen of the world, whose knowledge and wisdom have been utilized to great advantage to enrich this great state and nation, was born in Madison, Wisconsin, he joined the staff of the Tulsa Tribune as a reporter and columnist in 1933. He advanced through the positions of Managing Editor and Associate Editor to Editor and Publisher, the position which he now holds. Mr. Jones has devoted much of his time to public service, and is constantly in demand as a speaker at civic events. He served as President of the United States Chamber of Commerce in 1969 and as chairman of the Board in 1970.

Year of Award: 1974