The Henry G. Bennett Distinguished Service Award


Dr. M. R. Lohmann
Dean Emeritus, OSU College of Engineering

M. R. Lohmann

Oklahoma State University is pleased to honor Dr. M. R. Lohmann, nationally recognized engineering educator and Dean Emeritus of the Oklahoma State University Division of Engineering, Technology and Architecture, Professor Emeritus of Industrial Engineering and H. G. Thuesen Professor of Engineering Education. Dr. Lohmann has served as President and Vice President of the Engineers' Council for Professional Development, President and Vice President of the American Society for Engineering Education and in two Vice Presidential capacities with the American Institute of Industrial Engineers. He served as Oklahoma State University Engineering Dean from 1955 until his retirement in 1977. Before that he had served in all academic ranks, including seven years as Vice Dean.

Dean Lohmann has been widely sought for his knowledge and expertise, serving as lecturer and conference leader throughout the nation, consultant to universities and colleges of engineering on operation and administration, administrator of international assistance programs in Pakistan and Brazil and consultant on programs in Egypt and Peru. He visited some 65 countries in Asia, Europe, Africa and South America, studying their engineering and technical education programs. He has been a consultant to government and industry in Seden and Norway as well as the United States.

As a member of the National Society of Professional Engineers, he won its Engineer of the Year Award in 1971. He won the Engineer of the Year Award of the Oklahoma Society of Professional Engineers in 1870 and its Outstanding Engineer in Management Award in 1976, and also served as the president of its Mid-North Chapter. A Registered Professional Engineer in Oklahoma since 1943, Dr. Lohmann also served as a member of the Executive Committee and Chairman of the Engineering Division of the National Association of State Universities and Land-Grant Colleges and Secondary Schools and as a trustee of the Frontiers of Science Foundation of Oklahoma. He has authored scores of articles for professional and education publications.

Year of Award: 1981