The Henry G. Bennett Distinguished Service Award


Mr. Dean A. McGee
Retired Chief Executive Officer, Kerr-McGee Company

Dean A. McGee
Jenkin Lloyd Jones
William T. Payne

It is appropriate that The Henry G. Bennett Distinguished Service Award be presented to Mr. Jenkin Lloyd Jones, Mr. Dean A. McGee, and Mr. William T. Payne -- individuals who have demonstrated with their hearts, minds, and souls those qualities of character which exemplify the life of the man in whose name the award is made.

Mr. McGee received his BS degree from the University of Kansas and served Phillips Petroleum Company for ten years as Chief Geologist. He resigned in 1937 to become Vice President of Kerlyn Oil Company, predecessor to Kerr-McGee Corporation. Mr. McGee became Executive Vice President of Kerr-McGee in 1942, President in 1954, and Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer in 1967. The author of numerous technical papers on energy, petroleum geology, and production practices, Mr. McGee has been recognized for his outstanding ability by many organizations in his professional field. In addition to his leadership in the petroleum industry, he has been active in scientific, educational, and civic organizations. He has been awarded honorary degrees and citations by six colleges and universities and has received numerous civic awards.

Year of Award: 1974