The Henry G. Bennett Distinguished Service Award


Mr. Paul Miller
President, Gannett Company, Inc.

Paul Miller

Mr. Paul Miller
Mr. M. B. Seretean
Mr. Walker Stone

It is appropriate that The Henry G. Bennett Distinguished Service Award be presented to Mr. Paul Miller, Mr. M. B. Seretean, and Mr. Walker Stone -- individuals who have demonstrated with their hearts, minds, and souls those qualities of character which exemplify the life of the man in whose name the award is made.

Oklahoma State University is honored to recognize these three alumni, all of whom have been previously elected to the OSU Alumni Hall of Fame.

Mr. Paul Miller is Chairman and Chief executive of the Gannett Company, as well as President of The Associated Press, a position to which has been reelected annually since 1963. He has received many honors and awards for his contributions to the journalism profession, including the William Allen White citation for journalistic merit at the University of Kansas; the University of Missouri medal for distinguished service to journalism; and the "Distinguished Service Award: of the Ohio Press Association.

Perhaps most important to Oklahoma State University is the fact that these three distinguished alumni have given support to the University and continue to stand as the embodiment of the leadership which comes from the most important element of this institution--its students.

Paul Miller Collection at the OSU Library

Year of Award: 1972