Oklahoma State University: The STATE's University
Visit the OSU Home Page


Mary Larson

Mary Larson

Mary Larson is the Puterbaugh Professor of Library Service and Associate Dean for Special Collections, and she came to OSU as the head of the Oklahoma Oral History Research Program after working in oral history at the University of Alaska Fairbanks and the University of Nevada. She has served as a member of Council for the Oral History Association (OHA)(2003-2006), filled two three-year terms on the board of the Southwest Oral History Association, and has chaired numerous committees for both organizations. More recently, she served two terms as President of OHA from 2011-2013. She was the media review editor for The Oral History Review for five years, and she was an editor for the H-Oralhist listserv from 2000-2014. Her areas of interest include the intersections of anthropology and history, issues of shared authority, ethics and technology, and rural women's history. Among her oral history publications are three books--Oral History and Digital Humanities (Palgrave 2014, co-edited with Doug Boyd), Famiglia e Cucina: Stories and Recipes from Northwestern Nevada's Italian-American Community (UNOHP, 2007), and We Were All Athletes: Women's Athletics at the University of Nevada (UNOHP, 2011), a methodological chapter in the Handbook of Oral History (AltaMira, 2006), and numerous articles in the Oral History Review.

Dennis Preston



Dennis R. Preston
Dennis R. Preston is Regents Professor, Oklahoma State University and University Distinguished Professor Emeritus, Michigan State University and has been a visiting professor at the Universities of Hawaii, Arizona, Michigan, Copenhagen, and Berkeley and a Senior Fulbright Research Scholar in Poland and Brazil. He was Director of the 2003 Linguistic Society of America Institute, President of the American Dialect Society, and has served on the Executive Boards of those societies and others, as well as the editorial boards of numerous journals and panels of granting agencies. He is a member of the advisory committees to several international research projects and is invited frequently for presentations in both academic and popular venues. His work focuses on sociolinguistics and dialectology, including four recent NSF grants, two in folk linguistics and two in language variation and change. His most recent book-length publications are, with Daniel Long, A handbook of perceptual dialectology, Volume II (2002), Needed research in American dialects (2003), with Brian Joseph and Carol G. Preston, Linguistic diversity in Michigan and Ohio (2005), with James Stanford, Variation in indigenous languages (2009), and with Nancy Niedzielski, A Reader in Sociophonetics (2010). He is a fellow of the Japan Society for the Promotion of Science, an Erskine Fellow of the University of Canterbury, Christchurch, New Zealand, and was awarded the Officer’s Cross of the Order of Merit of the Polish Republic in 2004.

Oklahoma State University - Stillwater | Stillwater, OK 74078 | 405.744.5000
Copyright 2008 Oklahoma State University | All rights reserved