Oklahoma Library Legends Banner

Ray Lau

Oklahoma Library Legends

Aaronson, Alfred

Anthony, Nancy

Bierman, Ken

Boies, Kay

Brawner, Lee

Brown, Ruth

Butcher, N.E.

Carnegie, Andrew Foundation

Clark, Bob

Clarke, Polly

Corwin, Aarone

Dale, Dorothea

Delaney, Oliver

Delphian Clubs and Societies

Dessauer, Phil

Dieterlen, Beverly

Dover, Leta

DuVall, Frances

Ellison, Sandy

Estes-Rickner, Bettie

Ferguson, Milton J.

Ferguson, Mrs. Thomas B. (Eva Shartel)

Frasier, Sally Freeman

Friends of Libraries groups around Oklahoma

Friends of Libraries in Oklahoma (FOLIO)

Friends of Tulsa City-County Library

Funk, Mrs. Trimmier Sloan

Gates, Bill & Melinda Foundation

Gorman, Edith

Hale, Kathy

Hand, Elsie

Hanway, Wayne

Hardesty, Roger & Donna

Helmerich, Peggy

Henke, Esther Mae

Hewey, Dell

Hinkle, John

Hinshaw, Marilyn

Johnson, Edward R.

Johnson, Jeanie

Keene, Jan

Kennedy, Frances

Lau, Ray

Laughlin, Mildred

Lester, June

Literary Clubs

Low, Edmon

Lowry, William (Bill)

Maddox, Eugenia (Frances)

Marable, Mary Hays

Martin, Allie Beth

Masters, Anne Rounds

McAnally, Arthur

McGlenn, Alma Reid

McVey, Susan

Miles, Ava

Miller, Gail

Miltimore, Cora

Morgan, Anne Hodges

Morris, Donna

Motter, Robert T., Jr.

Motter, Robert T., Sr.

Noble Foundation

Norberg, Lillian Born

Norvell, Donna

Parker, Mrs. J.C.

Patterson, Lotsee

Phelps, Edith Allen

Phillips, John & Vicki

Porter, Cora Case

Rader, Jesse

Ramsay, R.W.

Ratliff, Julia Brady

Ray, Dee Ann

Robbins, Louise S.

Rock, Marian

Rouse, Roscoe and Charlie Lou

Sanders, Jan

Saulmon, Sharon

Segal, Bob & Pat

Sherman, Mary

Skvarla, Donna

Spriestersbach, Barbara

Staggs, Barbara

Sturdivant, Nan

Swisher, Robert

Thomas, Della

Thompson, Clinton M. Jr. (Marty)

Tomberlin, Irma

Townsend, Mrs. Hosea

Troy, Forrest (Frosty)

Vesely, Marilyn

Weaver-Meyers, Pat

Wentroth, Mary Ann

Willingham, Gerry

Women's Federated Clubs

Women's Clubs of Oklahoma

Woodrum, Pat

Young, Bill

Zarrow, Henry & Anne

Ray Lau ImageRay Lau served the Oklahoma Library Association in various capacities and the Northwestern Oklahoma State University community as Director of Libraries during a career spanning 29 years. As a member of OLA, Lau served as Chair of the Sequoyah Children’s Book Award Committee from 1974-1978 and as the association’s Treasurer from 1981-1983. He was elected to the Council of the American Library Association in 1984 and received the Distinguished Service Award as Councilor for the American Library Association in 1988. During his career, Lau also served two terms on both the Advisory Board to the University of Oklahoma’s School of Library and Information Studies and the Governor’s Conference on Libraries. Additionally, he was a member of the Oklahoma Council of Academic Library Directors since the Council’s inception in 1988. Ray Lau was honored with the Oklahoma Library Association’s Special Meritorious Service Award in the spring of 2003.

In addition to his Director’s duties, Lau was Chair and Assistant Professor of the Department of Library Science at Northwestern until the department’s closing in 2001. He taught many of the courses in the library science curriculum in addition to advising all library science majors, supervising student teachers/librarians, and sponsoring the Library Science Club. During his time at Northwestern, he supervised two automation projects and the expansion of online technology at the library as well as creating the library on the Enid campus of NWOSU. When he retired in June 2003, the Board of Regents of Oklahoma Colleges honored Lau with the title of Professor Emeritus.

Return to the Oklahoma Library Legends