Oklahoma Library Legends Banner

William (Bill) Lowry

Oklahoma Library Legends

Aaronson, Alfred

Anthony, Nancy

Bierman, Ken

Boies, Kay

Brawner, Lee

Brown, Ruth

Butcher, N.E.

Carnegie, Andrew Foundation

Clark, Bob

Clarke, Polly

Corwin, Aarone

Dale, Dorothea

Delaney, Oliver

Delphian Clubs and Societies

Dessauer, Phil

Dieterlen, Beverly

Dover, Leta

DuVall, Frances

Ellison, Sandy

Estes-Rickner, Bettie

Ferguson, Milton J.

Ferguson, Mrs. Thomas B. (Eva Shartel)

Frasier, Sally Freeman

Friends of Libraries groups around Oklahoma

Friends of Libraries in Oklahoma (FOLIO)

Friends of Tulsa City-County Library

Funk, Mrs. Trimmier Sloan

Gates, Bill & Melinda Foundation

Gorman, Edith

Hale, Kathy

Hand, Elsie

Hanway, Wayne

Hardesty, Roger & Donna

Helmerich, Peggy

Henke, Esther Mae

Hewey, Dell

Hinkle, John

Hinshaw, Marilyn

Johnson, Edward R.

Johnson, Jeanie

Keene, Jan

Kennedy, Frances

Lau, Ray

Laughlin, Mildred

Lester, June

Literary Clubs

Low, Edmon

Lowry, William (Bill)

Maddox, Eugenia (Frances)

Marable, Mary Hays

Martin, Allie Beth

Masters, Anne Rounds

McAnally, Arthur

McGlenn, Alma Reid

McVey, Susan

Miles, Ava

Miller, Gail

Miltimore, Cora

Morgan, Anne Hodges

Morris, Donna

Motter, Robert T., Jr.

Motter, Robert T., Sr.

Noble Foundation

Norberg, Lillian Born

Norvell, Donna

Parker, Mrs. J.C.

Patterson, Lotsee

Phelps, Edith Allen

Phillips, John & Vicki

Porter, Cora Case

Rader, Jesse

Ramsay, R.W.

Ratliff, Julia Brady

Ray, Dee Ann

Robbins, Louise S.

Rock, Marian

Rouse, Roscoe and Charlie Lou

Sanders, Jan

Saulmon, Sharon

Segal, Bob & Pat

Sherman, Mary

Skvarla, Donna

Spriestersbach, Barbara

Staggs, Barbara

Sturdivant, Nan

Swisher, Robert

Thomas, Della

Thompson, Clinton M. Jr. (Marty)

Tomberlin, Irma

Townsend, Mrs. Hosea

Troy, Forrest (Frosty)

Vesely, Marilyn

Weaver-Meyers, Pat

Wentroth, Mary Ann

Willingham, Gerry

Women's Federated Clubs

Women's Clubs of Oklahoma

Woodrum, Pat

Young, Bill

Zarrow, Henry & Anne

William (Bill) Lowry Image

Bill Lowry was the founding Director of the Pioneer Library System and served as its director for 29 years. Prior to that position, he worked for the Oklahoma City Public Library. With Esther Mae Henke and Virginia Owens, Bill was instrumental in the establishment of the multi-county concept for Oklahoma. In March of 1958, he became Director of the multi-county pilot project that became a reality when McClain County voted to participate in l960 and Cleveland County voted to become a member in l961. In l978 Pottawatomie County joined the Pioneer Library System. When Bill retired in l987, the Pioneer Library System covered three counties and had grown from two full service libraries to eight.

He led the effort to build a new Norman Public Library to house both the Norman Library and the Pioneer Library System headquarters. That library opened in l966. In addition to Norman, during Bill’s tenure new library buildings were built in Moore, Noble, and Purcell.

Bill was President of the Oklahoma Library Association in l959 and worked for better library legislation throughout his career. He assisted in writing the enabling legislation that established the reoccurring ad valorem tax levy solely dedicated to library systems. He then worked tirelessly to pass the constitutional amendment. He served as Chairman of the Public Library Code Revision Committee that sponsored legislation that later became the Oklahoma Library Code still in force today. Bill was truly a “Pioneer” in establishing good library service in Oklahoma. He received the OLA Distinguished Service Award in 1973.

Return to the Oklahoma Library Legends