Friends Dinner

Celebrating Books by OSU Authors

Center for Oklahoma Studies Symposium

Constitution Day

Noon Concert Series

Oklahoma Ovation

Library-Botany Lecture

This Year's Speaker Previous Speaker Ticket Information

Previous Speakers


2014 - Scott Turow
No one writes a better mystery suspense-LA Times
2013 - Carl Hiaasen
America's finest satirical novelist
2012 - James Patterson
The only author to have five hardcover novels debut at #1 in one year
2011 - Nicholas Sparks
New York Times #1 bestselling author with 15 books to his name and six blockbuster movies based on his books
2010 - Charles Johnson
National Book Award Winner for "Middle Passage"
2009 - Neil deGrasse Tyson
the host of Nova Science Now and the author of nine books including "Pluto Files" and "Death by Black Hole"
2008 - T. Boone Pickens
Author of "The First Billion is the Hardest"
2007 - James Bradley
son of Iwo Jima flag raiser John Bradley, & author of the New York Times #1 bestseller "Flags of Our Fathers"
2006 - Michael Wallis
Route 66 author and authority, consultant for Pixar's "Cars" and voice of the sheriff
2005 - Frank Deford
author of fourteen books, senior writer at Sports Illustrated, NPR commentator, and HBO Real Sports correspondent.
2004 - Billie Letts
Where the Heart Is, featured in the Oprah Book Club, was the basis of the 2000 movie of the same name.
2003 - Ken Burns
An award-winning filmmaker and author, best known for his epic documentaries, The Civil War, Baseball, and Jazz.
2002 - S.E. Hinton
Author of The Outsiders, basis of the Frances Ford Coppola movie of the same name
2001 - Oliver Sacks
Author of Awakenings, basis of the Academy Award-nominated movie of the same name
2000 - William Bernhardt
Author of the Award-winning "Justice Series"
1999 - Doris Kearns Goodwin
Author of "No Ordinary Time: Franklin and Eleanor Roosevelt"
1998 - Judith Viorst
Beloved children's book author, poet and author of the best selling "Necessary Losses"
1997 - William F. Buckley Jr.
Author, advisor, columnist, and founder of the National Review
1996 - Kurt Vonnegut, Jr.
Internationally-known author of "Slaughterhouse Five"
1995 - Baxter Black
Cowboy poet and author of Hey, Cowboy Wanna Get Lucky?
1994 - Andrei Codrescu
Romanian-born writer and National Public Radio commentator
1993 - Tony Hillerman
Author of the best selling Joe Leaphorn/Jim Chee mystery series
1992 - Alvin Granowsky
Noted humorist
Michael Wallis
1991 - Michael Wallis
Award-winning reporter and author of Route 66: the Mother Road


For information on the H. Louise & H.E. "Ed" Cobb Speaker Series presented by the Friends of the OSU Library, contact Debbie Clemons at or 405-744-7273.

For more information on giving to the Library contact the Tylerr Ropp at or 405-385-5664 or contact Jill Johnson at or 405-385-0733.