Friends Dinner

Celebrating Books by OSU Authors

Center for Oklahoma Studies Symposium

Constitution Day

Noon Concert Series

Oklahoma Ovation

Library-Botany Lecture

Armon Bost-2001 Edna Mae Phelps Award Winner

Carolyn Savage presents Armon Bost with the 2001 Edna Mae Phelps Award

Founding member of the Friends of the OSU Library, Armon Bost received the eighth annual Edna Mae Phelps Award, which recognizes individuals who have substantially and unselfishly gone above and beyond duty to increase the effectiveness of the OSU Library.

Bost was honored at the recent H. Louise & H.E. "Ed" Cobb Speaker Series presented by the Friends of the OSU Library. Immediate Past President of the Friends, Carolyn Savage, presented the award to Bost.

Savage read from one nomination letter, "Armon Bost was highly influential in the early organization of the Friends of the OSU Library. As soon as he learned of the need for such an organization, Mr. Bost participated in its beginning activities and contributed generously of his time and money to see that it got off the ground successfully. Mr. Bost is a long-time and highly regarded businessman in Tulsa and, on behalf of the fledgling Friends group, invited many of his friends and associates to join in a good cause. Many of his friends did join, including several who would later occupy leadership positions in the Friends of the OSU Library and others who would contribute substantial gifts to the Library."

The Edna Mae Phelps Award was established in 1994 to honor founder and first President of the Friends of the OSU Library Edna Mae Phelps of Seminole. Nominations are collected throughout the year. For information on the award and how to nominate someone, see or call (405) 744-7331.


For more information on giving to the Library contact the Tylerr Ropp, Senior Director of Development, at or 405-385-5664.