Friends Dinner

Celebrating Books by OSU Authors

Center for Oklahoma Studies Symposium

Constitution Day

Noon Concert Series

Oklahoma Ovation

Library-Botany Lecture

Jill Holmes-Winner of the 1998 Edna Mae Phelps Award

Dean Edward R. Johnson congratulates Jill Holmes on receiving the Edna Mae Phelps award.

(The following is from the H. Louise Cobb & the Friends of the OSU Library Speaker Series held November 6, 1997. Mrs. Phelps presented Jill Holmes a plaque and honored her with the following introduction. Professor Mark Cox from the English Department wrote the nominating letter.)

The Edna Mae Phelps Award recognizes individuals who have substantially and unselfishly gone above and beyond duty to increase the effectiveness of the OSU Library. I am very pleased to announce that the recipient of the fifth annual Edna Mae Phelps Award is Ms. Jill M. Holmes, OSU emeritus librarian and OSU alumnus.

When Jill retired from the OSU Library in 1992, she asked that - instead of people contributing to a gift for her (as is their usual custom), they contribute to a staff development fund she had established in honor of two former library employees, Mary Greenberg and Marguerite Howland. And in 1996, Jill contributed enough to endow it. Such generous and thoughtful actions are typical of her - as is her dedication, energy and interest in the campus and community at large.

Just to name of few of Jill's many activities:

As you can see, Jill is a wonderful friend to the OSU Library and her vision will have a lasting impact on students and faculty who use the Library for years to come.

I am pleased to present Ms. Jill Holmes with the 1998 Edna Mae Phelps award.


For more information on giving to the Library contact the Tylerr Ropp, Senior Director of Development, at or 405-385-5664.