Friends Dinner

Celebrating Books by OSU Authors

Center for Oklahoma Studies Symposium

Constitution Day

Noon Concert Series

Oklahoma Ovation

Library-Botany Lecture

Carolyn Savage-Winner of the 2000 Edna Mae Phelps Award

Carolyn Savage presents Armon Bost with the 2001 Edna Mae Phelps Award

Outgoing Friends of the OSU Library President Carolyn Savage received the seventh annual Edna Mae Phelps Award, which recognizes individuals who have substantially and unselfishly gone above and beyond duty to increase the effectiveness of the OSU Library.

Savage, a former Oklahoma A&M regent, was honored at the 2000 H. Louise Cobb and the Friends of the OSU Library speaker series.

Seminole's Edna Mae Phelps presented the award to a surprised Savage. Phelps said upon presenting the plaque, "For more than 50 years Mrs. Savage has been associated with OSU. A 1953 graduate, she was appointed by two different governors to the Oklahoma A&M Board of Regents between 1977-1993. It was during her second term that she became an outspoken supporter of the Library. In 1987 she chaired the Regents' Special Task Force on the Library that successfully urged the university administration to allocate six percent of its E&G budget to the support of the Library. In this position she also encouraged the formation of the Friends of the OSU Library organization."

Phelps read from one nomination letter, "Upon her retirement from the Board of Regents it would have been easy for Mrs. Savage to feel that she had done enough to help the Library. Nonetheless, she accepted an invitation to join the Friends Executive Board. And, eventually, served as president for three consecutive terms. During this time, she provided valuable leadership in the successful 'Bringing Dreams to Life' campaign. And, she helped plan for last year's celebration of the library's two-millionth volume. It would be hard to find a better, more loyal friend of either the library or OSU than Carolyn Savage."


For more information on giving to the Library contact the Tylerr Ropp, Senior Director of Development, at or 405-385-5664.