Friends Dinner

Celebrating Books by OSU Authors

Center for Oklahoma Studies Symposium

Constitution Day

Noon Concert Series

Oklahoma Ovation

Library-Botany Lecture

Friends’ Highest Honor Goes to Kim Seagraves

Carolyn Savage presents Armon Bost with the 2001 Edna Mae Phelps Award

Story by Marissa Chavez

Patient, helpful, irreplaceable and dedicated are just a few words that many would use to describe Kim Seagraves. These attributes and more granted her the honor of receiving the 2009 Edna Mae Phelps Award.

“Kim has earned the gratitude, respect and affection of nearly all of those with whom she has worked with, and is a most worthy recipient of this award,” said Dr. Anne Prestamo, Associate Dean for Collection and Technology Services.

Seagraves earned her B.A. in management of information sciences and a master’s degree in telecommunications management from Oklahoma State University. She began working for the Library in 1985 as a Library Assistant in Access Services, but currently serves as the Assistant Department Head for the Library’s Systems Department.

“In looking back over the 24 years of service to the OSU Library, she is definitely a person who has, and still is, making a positive difference for nearly everyone who walks through the doors of the OSU Library,” said Rod McAbee Director of Library systems.

Seagraves maintains the Library’s online catalog system, Voyager, which serves not only OSU, but also 12 other libraries across Oklahoma. She has spent countless hours on the system to assure Library users have uninterrupted access to the Library’s systems.

Seagraves was recognized with the “Outstanding Employee Award” in 1993 and the “Mary Greenberg/Marguerite Howland Personnel Development Award” in 1997.
The Phelps award has been presented annually since 1994 to recognize individuals who have substantially and unselfishly gone above and beyond duty, to increase the effectiveness of the OSU Library. It is the highest honor presented by the Friends of the OSU Library.


For more information on giving to the Library contact the Tylerr Ropp, Senior Director of Development, at or 405-385-5664.