Friends Dinner

Celebrating Books by OSU Authors

Center for Oklahoma Studies Symposium

Constitution Day

Noon Concert Series

Oklahoma Ovation

Library-Botany Lecture

Sheila Grant Johnson Named Dean of OSU Libraries

Sheila Grant Johnson

Originally Published in May 2004

Sheila Grant Johnson, associate professor and assistant dean of Oklahoma State University Libraries for public services and collections since 2000, has been selected as the dean of OSU Libraries.

Her appointment is pending approval by the OSU Board of Regents at their next meeting on June 18, according to Dr. Marlene Strathe, OSU provost and senior vice president. She will begin her duties on June 21.

The OSU Library employs more than 200 faculty, staff and students who serve the needs of the campus community. In addition to the Edmon Low Library, other libraries on the OSU-Stillwater campus include the Veterinary Medicine Library, The Mary L. Williams Curriculum Materials Library in the College of Education, and the Architecture Library.

Johnson received her associate’s degree from Amarillo Junior College, where she was named to Phi Theta Kappa honor society and was selected as the Outstanding Social Science Student; her B.A. in history from Baylor University; and her master of library science degree from the University of Texas, Austin.

Before coming to OSU in 1978, she served as map librarian at Texas A&M University for four years.

At OSU, Johnson served as assistant professor and head of the circulation department from 1978-81, and was head of the Biological Sciences Reference Division from 1981-88, attaining the rank of associate professor in 1986. In 1989 she was named assistant university librarian for reference, instruction and collections.

Johnson has served the university on numerous search and screening committees,
was a member of the OSU Centennial Coordinating Committee, served on the
Faculty Council from 1984-90, and was elected chair of the Library Faculty from 1981-82.

She has held numerous positions in the American Library Association’s Science and Technology Section, including serving as chair of the executive committee from 1986-87.

She holds professional memberships the American Library Association, including its Association for Library Collections and Technical Services, Association of College and Research Libraries, and Library Administration and Management Association. She also is a professional member of the Oklahoma Library Association’s University and College Division, and the Oklahoma Chapter of the Association of College and Research Libraries.


For more information on giving to the Library contact the Tylerr Ropp, Senior Director of Development, at or 405-385-5664.