Friends Dinner

Celebrating Books by OSU Authors

Center for Oklahoma Studies Symposium

Constitution Day

Noon Concert Series

Oklahoma Ovation

Library-Botany Lecture

Justice Steven W. Taylor Receives 2008 Edna Mae Phelps Award

Justice Steven Taylor

Justice Steven W. Taylor was recently honored as the 2008 Edna Mae Phelps Award. The award is the highest honor presented by the Friends of the OSU Library.

The award has been presented annually since 1994 to recognize individuals who have substantially and unselfishly gone above and beyond duty to increase the effectiveness of the OSU Library. Associate Dean of Libraries, Jennifer Paustenbaugh, nominated Taylor.

"As chair of the Puterbaugh Foundation, Justice Taylor has renewed the Foundation’s interest in the OSU Library. Between 2004 and 2005, with Justice Taylor as a member and later managing trustee, the Puterbaugh Foundation doubled its original gift to the Puterbaugh Professorship of Library Service," said Paustenbaugh.

Taylor earned a B.A. in political science from Oklahoma State University in 1971, and a J.D. from the University of Oklahoma Law in 1974. He was involved in student government, honor society and was a member of the Kappa Sigma fraternity while he was a student at OSU. 

OSU recognized Taylor as a “Leadership Legacy” in 2002 and as a “Distinguished Alumnus” in 2003. Justice Taylor also was inducted into the Oklahoma State University Hall of Fame in 2007. Oklahoma magazine named Taylor in the “100 Who Shaped Us”- a list of living and past Oklahomans who influenced the first 100 years of our state.

"Justice Taylor has been widely recognized for his outstanding achievements in his career, as a public servant and as an alumnus of OSU. He has used his influence, leadership and enthusiasm to bring attention to the Library," said Paustenbaugh.


For more information on giving to the Library contact the Tylerr Ropp, Senior Director of Development, at or 405-385-5664.