Oklahoma State Plan for the Federal Depository Library Program



Collection Development and Resource Sharing
Bibliographic Control
Quality of Service
Public Relations
Electronic Resources
Contingency Planning

Federal depository libraries in Oklahoma are part of the national Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP) and are responsible for providing access to federal government information for the citizens of Oklahoma. Congress established the FDLP to help fulfill its responsibilities to inform the public of the policies and activities of the federal government. This program is based upon three principles:

All government information shall be made available to depository libraries, with certain specified exceptions;
Depository libraries shall be located in each Congressional district in order to make government information widely available;
This government information, in all formats, shall be available for the use of the general public for no fee.

Chapter 19 of Title 44, U.S. Code is the authority for the establishment and operation of the Depository Program.

In 1981 the Depository Library Council to the Public Printer encouraged the establishment of plans for the coordination of the Federal Depository Library Program within each state. The Superintendent of Documents encouraged the adoption of these plans. This document is a revision of the Oklahoma Plan originally formulated in the 1980s. It reflects the increased movement of documents to the electronic environment.

Regional Depositories in Oklahoma are located at the Oklahoma Department of Libraries in Oklahoma City, and at Oklahoma State University in Stillwater. Selective depositories are located at East Central State University in Ada, Northwestern Oklahoma State University in Alva, Southern Nazarene University in Bethany, Southeastern Oklahoma State University in Durant, University of Central Oklahoma in Edmond, Public Library of Enid and Garfield County, Langston University, Lawton Public Library, University of Oklahoma and University of Oklahoma Law Library in Norman, Metropolitan Library System in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma City University, Oklahoma Baptist University in Shawnee, Northeastern Staste University in Tahlequah, Tulsa City-County Library, University of Tulsa and University of Tulsa College of Law Library, and Southwestern Oklahoma State University in Weatherford.

For directory information about these depositories consult the Oklahoma Directory of Depositories for United States and State of Oklahoma Government Publications available from the Oklahoma Department of Libraries and on their Web site: http://www.state.ok.us/~odl

The State Plan will be reviewed every five years, or more often if needed. We welcome your input and comments. Contact one of the Regional Depository Librarians:

John Phillips
Oklahoma State University
Edmon Low Library, Documents Department
Stillwater, OK 74078-1071


Steve Beleu
Oklahoma Department of Libraries
U.S. Government Information Division
200 N.E. 18th St.
Oklahoma City, OK 73105-3298
Toll-free In-State:(800)522-8116

September 2006
Web update: September 27, 2006
Questions and comments to:
Steve Beleu, Director, U.S. Government Information Division, Oklahoma Dept. of Libraries
John Phillips, Head, Documents Department, Oklahoma State University Library