Return to the OSU Library Entry Page

 

Company and Industry Classifications
Finding Company and Industry Information

INDUSTRY INFORMATION

COMPANY INFORMATION

A business firm can be assigned or classified to an industry based on the firm's products or services. Tracking companies by their industry is important for comparing industry statistics among international, state and local economies. The older numerical classification system is based on the Standard Industrial Classification Manual, referred to as the SIC Manual. The most current manual was published in 1987. The SIC classification system is slowly being replaced by the NAICS, North American Industrial Classification Systems, Manual. Both manuals are from the Executive Office of the President, Office of Management and Budget.

Print Sources

Major Print Sources:
SIC, Standard Industrial Classification Manual, 1987 The manual contains a four digit classification system corresponding to a firm's activity. It also attempts to provide a firm's relationship to the industry within the United States. Ready Reference*
DBU S787 1987
NAICS, North American Industrial Classification System Manual front coverNAICS, North American Industrial Classification System Manual Adopted in 1997, this manual gives special attention to new and emerging industries. Developed by the U.S., Mexico and Canada, the NAICS enables comparable industry analysis across the three countries. Ready Reference*
PREX 2.6/2:IN 27/997
Dun & Bradstreet D&B Million Dollar Directory This book covers over 160,000 of the largest U.S. businesses. Besides providing an SIC number it provides addresses, product or service, and approximate sales. If you can't find the company you are interested in, then try looking for a competitor of your company to obtain an SIC code. Reference Area
338.058 D897m
NAICS Desk Reference front coverNAICS Desk Reference This book contains the complete list of the new NAICS industries and codes. Detailed descriptions of industries with an SIC-to-NAICS cross reference section. Easier to use than government NAICS Manual. Ready Reference*
338.020127 N1105

(* Ready Reference refers to the collection of reference books kept behind the Reference Desk on 1st floor)

Neither the SIC nor the NAICS manuals have an easy-to-use index; you may find the Million Dollar Directory easier to use in finding an SIC/NAICS code for an industry or company.

Electronic sources

You can try classifying your company or industry by using the SIC search engine provided by OSHA. Type in a few key words describing the company's products or services, or the industry; e.g. women retail clothing. Your search results would include the SIC code: 5621 Clothing, ready-to-wear: women's-retail. Some of the newer indexes, both paper and electronic, may be using the NAICS code for classification. If so, the 1997 NAICS and 1987 SIC Correspondence Tables provided by the Census Bureau will be useful.

 

INDUSTRY INFORMATION

COMPANY INFORMATION