Return to the OSU Library Entry Page

 

Company Market Shares
Finding Company and Industry Information

INDUSTRY INFORMATION

COMPANY INFORMATION

Market share is the percentage of sales that a brand or company has for a specific product or product category. This is a type of company ranking. Many of the industry print sources mentioned in "Finding Industry Trends and Projections" will have company rankings within an industry. Company rankings can be based on a number of categories like total sales or employee figures and may be dependent on SIC/NAICS code classifications. Much of the data published in the major print sources listed below may be based on information several years old. You may have better luck checking some electronic sources first.

Print Sources

Major Print Sources:
Dun & Bradstreet D & B America's Corporate Business Rankings Ranks over 25,000 of the nation's leading private and public businesses by sales, employee size, SIC code or nationally. The source uses SIC codes to the 2 digit level thus categories are quite broad. Reference Area
338.7402573 D926
Business Rankings Annual Top ten companies in various industries in many lists. Includes some rankings at the city or state level. Reference Area
338.740973 B979
Market Share Reporter A compilation of reported market share data on companies, products and services. Reference Area
380.105 M345

(* Ready Reference refers to the collection of reference books kept behind the Reference Desk on 1st floor)

Electronic sources

A successful way to find market share that a company has for a product or products is through keyword searching the terms "market share" and the company within specific databases, like Proquest. You may also have success with the database Factiva.

In the search box, type the name of the company and the phrase "market share*". In the example below the terms "Nike near5 market share*" were entered. This means your search will look for the word, "Nike", within 5 words of the phrases "market share" or "market shares" in the full text articles from over 8,000 newspapers, magazines and trade journals. Make sure you sort headlines by "date, most recent first" or "relevance." To search for Oklahoma-based companies use the Tulsa World and the Daily Oklahoman full-text databases.

Factiva search screen with the search of nike near5 and the phrase market share*

Factiva will display results similarly to the screen below. Click on the hyperlink article title to pull up the full-text article. Every article displayed can be printed. If you need more help with Factiva please contact the Reference Desk.

Factiva search results screen with citations and hyperlinks to the full-text

 

INDUSTRY INFORMATION

COMPANY INFORMATION