- Where is the Library?
The Edmon Low Library is centrally located on campus. It is north of the
Student Union and is the only other building on campus with a bell tower.
The Stillwater campus also has four branch libraries: the Architecture
Library,
in the Architecture Building, the Mary L. Williams
Curriculum Materials Library,
in Willard Hall, the North Boomer Annex,
and the William E. Brock Memorial Library,
in McElroy Hall.
- What kind of remote services does the OSU Library
have available?
You can use the Library’s website to access the OSU
Library Catalog (where you can check the circulation status of material
and renew items you have checked out), the A
to Z listing of approximately 200 electronic indexes
and databases, over 23,000 full-text journals, magazines, and newspapers,
online course reserves, and email reference assistance and tech support. To
access these tools off-campus you need to logon to the EZProxy.
There are detailed instructions at www.library.okstate.edu/dls/ezproxy.htm.
Our Digital Library Services (DLS) Department is available to answer any
questions about the Library&'s electronic resources. Contact DLS at (405)
744-9161, toll-free outside Stillwater at (877) 744-9161 or via email at lib-dls@okstate.edu.
- When is the Library open?
During the fall and spring semesters the Main Library is open Monday
through Thursday 7:30 am to 2:00 am, Friday 7:30 am to 10 pm, Saturday
9 am to 10 pm, and Sunday 9 am to 2 am. Hours vary during holidays
and intersessions. You can get the most up to date information about
Library hours by calling (405) 744-5029 or visiting www.library.okstate.edu/services/hours.htm.
- How long can I check out books and how many
can I check out at once?
Faculty have two due dates a year, February 27 and August 31. There
are special materials (laptops, videos, DVD's, maps, reserve materials,
branch library books) that have shorter loan periods. Staff will tell
you when items are due. You may renew most items online. Faculty can
have 150 items checked out at one time.
- Where can I find reference assistance?
Librarians or Library GAs are available at the 1st floor Reference Desk
to answer questions and give hands-on instruction 94 hours a week. You can
also find instructional guides to using the Library
in bins at the Reference Desk and both entrances. All guides and additional
tutorials can be found
online at www.library.okstate.edu/guides/handout.htm.
- How can I find recently purchased books?
Many of the new books are displayed on the 1st floor north side.
You can also search for recent acquisitions in the OSU
Library Catalog by selecting "New Books."
- Can I place things on reserve?
Yes. The OSU Library offers both hard copy Reserves, at the Circulation
Desk on the 1st floor, and electronic Reserves, through the OSU
Library Catalog. You can place items on Reserve by completing
a Reserve Materials Request Form. The form is available at the Circulation
Desk or online at http://reserves.library.okstate.edu/index.htm.
- Are there Librarians who specialize in my discipline?
Each OSU academic department is assigned a Subject Specialist Librarian.
Most Specialists hold a degree in that subject or a related field.
If you would like the Library to purchase specific books contact your
Subject Specialist. A list of the Subject Specialist Librarians can
be found at www.library.okstate.edu/services/liaison.htm.
Your Subject Specialist can also give you information on Library
resources and services or instruct your students on finding information
using the OSU Library
Catalog, bibliographic databases, and the web.
- Do faculty pay Library fines?
Faculty do not pay standard overdue fines. However, special fines
such as laptops, reserve, recalled, and special permission fines are
charged. These range from $5/day to $1.20/hour! If an item is lost
or damaged you will be charged the replacement cost of the item plus
a $20 processing fee. Fines not paid at the time material is returned
are billed to your Bursar's account.
- As OSU faculty, can I borrow books from other
Oklahoma libraries?
OSU-Stillwater is one of 35 institutions that take part in the OK-Share
program (view list at http://www.library.okstate.edu/access/circ/okshare.htm).
Any eligible faculty, student or staff member may use the collections
of any OK-Share library on site. To participate complete an OK-Share
card application at the Circulation Desk. When visiting a participating
library, you may present your OK-Share card and request a courtesy
card from that library. This courtesy card, with proper identification,
may be used to borrow materials.
- Can I checkout a laptop or use my own to access
the campus network in the Library?
Yes! The Library is set up for wireless internet access. You can
access the campus network using a laptop available for checkout at
the Circulation Desk or with your own laptop if it has a properly
configured 802.11B or WIFI ethernet card. For assistance, see the
ITD Help Desk in 113 Math Sciences.
- What if the Library doesn't have the book or
journal I need?
If the Library does not own a book or journal, we will borrow it
for you from another library. The Interlibrary Services (ILS) office
is located on the west end of the 1st floor. ILS borrows materials
from other libraries, so you can use them here. Some material can
even be sent to you electronically, saving you time and another trip
to the Library. Stop by the office for details or visit the ILS website
https://illiad.library.okstate.edu/illiad/ILL/logon.html
to submit requests electronically.
If you would like the Library to purchase specific books or subscriptions
contact your Subject Specialist Librarian. A list of the Subject Specialist
Librarians can be found at www.library.okstate.edu/services/liaison.htm.
- Where can I find journal articles?
Current issues of print journals are shelved in alphabetical order
by title on the 1st floor east. Older issues are bound and shelved
by call number in the regular stacks. Check the OSU Library Catalog
for individual journals' status.
Many journals are also offered in full-text on our website. Visit
the Full-Text Periodical Titles and Coverage List at www.library.okstate.edu/ftdb/index.htm
to see what we offer online.
- Can I be alerted about new articles in my discipline?
Yes, there are several alerting services. A full list can be found
at www.library.okstate.edu/database/alertservice.htm
with links to set up an alert with each. Alerts will come via email.
If you have questions about a particular service or setting up a profile,
contact Digital Library Services at lib-dls@okstate.edu
or (405) 744-9161 or toll-free outside Stillwater (877) 744-9161.
- Where can I find theses and dissertations?
Bound copies of OSU theses and dissertations can be found on the
third floor. They are shelved first by year, then by author. Non-circulating
copies can also be found in Special Collections/University Archives
on the 2nd floor. Check the OSU
Library Catalog for availability.
The OSU Library also subscribes to ProQuest Digital Dissertations,
which allows you online access to citations and abstracts for every
title in the Dissertation Abstracts database. Dissertations published
since 1997 and OSU Dissertations since 1961 are available full-text.
You can find Digital Dissertations in the A to Z list of indexes and
databases or go straight to http://argo.library.okstate.edu/login?url=http://proquest.umi.com/login?COPT=REJTPTNiMTAmU01EPTQmSU5UPTAmVkVSPTI=&clientId=4653gateway.
- What if the book I need is checked out?
If you need a book that is checked out, you can place a recall on
the item at www.library.okstate.edu/forms/recallbk.htm.
A recall changes the due date to two weeks after the request is placed.
When the book is returned, you will receive an email and a letter.
The book will be held for you for ten days.
If a book you have checked out is recalled, you will receive notification
of the new due date. Remember to return recalled material on time.
The fine for past due recalled items is $5 a day.
- How are books in the OSU Library arranged?
The OSU Library uses the Dewey Decimal System. Each book is assigned
a number representing a different subject area. You can read more
about the Dewey Decimal classification at www.library.okstate.edu/info/ddh.htm.
- Can I bring food or drinks into the Library?
Yes, you may bring drinks with a secure lid and small snack items.
The Edmon Low Library even has its own cafe, Java Dave's, where you
can buy specialty coffees, blended beverages, sodas, water, and snacks.
- Are there designated study areas?
The Library is sectioned into Group Study areas, for large groups
to meet and conversation is allowed; Quiet Study areas, for smaller
groups with moderate conversation; and Silent Study areas, where there
is no talking. There are also meeting rooms on the 1st and 2nd floors.
You can reserve these rooms at the Circulation Desk on the 1st floor.
Regrettably, there are no faculty carrels in the Library.
- Are there any special programs at the Library?
The Library holds a variety of events geared to different audiences.
There are exhibits, lectures, readings, book clubs, discussions, and
dinners. Most of the Library events are free and open to the public.
For information on exhibits and upcoming events in the Library call
(405) 744-7331 or visit www.library.okstate.edu/news/calendar.htm.
Help accessing online journals & databases (405) 744-9161 or (877) 744-9161
toll free