- Where
is the Library?
The Edmon Low Library is centrally located on campus. It is north of the
Student Union and is the only other building on campus with a bell tower.
The Stillwater campus also has four branch libraries: the Architecture
Library,
in the Architecture Building, the Mary L. Williams
Curriculum Materials Library,
in Willard Hall, the North Boomer Annex, and the William
E. Brock Memorial Library, in McElroy Hall.
- What kind of remote services does the OSU Library
have available?
You can use the Library's website to access the OSU
Library Catalog (where you can check the circulation status of material and
renew items you have checked out), the A
to Z listing of approximately
200 electronic indexes and databases, over 23,000 full-text journals,
magazines, and newspapers, online course reserves, and email reference
assistance and tech support. To access these tools off-campus you
need to logon to EZProxy. There are detailed instructions at www.library.okstate.edu/dls/ezproxy.htm
Our Digital Library Services (DLS) Department is available to answer
any questions about the Library's electronic resources. Contact
DLS at (405) 744-9161, toll-free outside Stillwater at (877) 744-9161
or via email at lib-dls@okstate.edu.
- When is the Library open?
During the fall and spring semesters the Main Library is open Monday
through Thursday 7:30 am to 2:00 am, Friday 7:30 am to 10 pm, Saturday
9 am to 10 pm and Sunday 9 am to 2 am. Hours vary during holidays
and intersessions. You can get the most up to date information about
Library hours by calling (405) 744-5029 or visiting www.library.okstate.edu/services/hours.htm.
- How many books can I have checked out at once
& for how long?
Graduate student can have 100 books out at one time with a loan period
of 120 days. There are special materials (videos, DVD's, maps, reserve
materials, branch library books) that have shorter loan periods. Staff
will tell you when items are due. You may renew most items online.
Register your email address at the Circulation Desk
and we will send you courtesy due date reminders before your books
are overdue!
- How much are Library fines?
Standard overdue fines are $.25/day. Reserve, recalled, and special
permission materials have higher fines ranging from $5/day to $1.20/hour!
If an item is lost or damaged you will be charge the replacement cost
of the item plus a $20 processing fee. Fines not paid at the time
material is returned are billed to your Bursar's account. Avoid fines,
renew your books online!
- Are there computers I can use in the Library?
There are internet stations on the 1st, 2nd, and 5th floors. At these
computers you can search and print from the web, OSU
Library Catalog and other library electronic resources. OSU students
can also check out wireless laptops at the Circulation Desk on the
1st floor. The laptops have wireless web access anywhere in the building
and infrared printers are located on each floor. These computers are
loaded with the same software found in Student Tech Fee Labs, including
Microsoft Word.
- Are there Librarians who specialize in my discipline?
Each OSU academic department is assigned a Subject Specialist Librarian.
Most Subject Specialists hold a degree in that subject or a related
field. If you would like the Library to purchase material in a certain
discipline contact your Subject Specialist. A list of the Subject
Specialist Librarians can be found at www.library.okstate.edu/services/liaison.htm.
- How can I get an item the Library doesn't own?
If the Library does not own a book or journal, we may still be able
to get it for you. The OSU Library takes part in a program called
Interlibrary Loan. The Interlibrary
Services (ILS) office is located on the west end of the 1st floor.
ILS borrows materials from other libraries, so you can use them here.
Some material can even be sent to you electronically, saving you time
and another trip to the Library. Stop by the office for details or
visit the ILS website www.library.okstate.edu/access/ils
to submit requests electronically.
- Where can I find reference assistance?
At the beginning of each semester the Library offers free tours
and training classes. These tours
and classes are 30 minutes each. Students can also enroll in LBSC
1011, a one-hour credit course on using Library resources.
Librarians or Library Graduate Assistants are available at the 2nd
floor Reference Desk to answer questions and give hands-on instruction
94 hours a week. You can also find instructional guides to using the
Library in bins at the Reference Desk and both entrances. All guides
and additional tutorials can be found
on the Library website www.library.okstate.edu.
- How are my Library Fees used?
OSU students pay two fees to support the Library. The Library Resource Fee,
is $5.75/credit hour. This pays for the purchase, upgrade, maintenance and
replacement of computer hardware and software to support the changing and
expanding electronic environment and the personnel needed to run the library
systems. The Library Electronic Resource fee, is $3/credit hour. These funds
support purchase of software, site licenses, and personnel to support student
access to the Library and provide more information sources.
- How are books in the OSU Library arranged?
The OSU Library uses the Dewey Decimal System. Each book is assigned
a number from 000 to 999 representing a different subject area. You
can read more about the Dewey Decimal classification at www.library.okstate.edu/info/ddh.htm.
- Where can I find theses and dissertations?
Bound copies of OSU theses and dissertations can be found on the
third floor. They are shelved first by year, then by author. Non-circulating
copies can also be found in Special Collections/University Archives
on the 2nd floor. Check the OSU
Library Catalog for availability.
The OSU Library also subscribes to ProQuest Digital Dissertations,
which allows you online access to citations and abstracts for every
title in the Dissertation Abstracts database. Dissertations published
since 1997 and OSU dissertations since 1961 are available full-text.
You can find Digital Dissertations in the A to Z list of indexes and
databases or go straight to http://argo.library.okstate.edu/login?url=http://proquest.umi.com/login?COPT=REJTPTNiMTAmU01EPTQmSU5UPTAmVkVSPTI=&clientId=4653gateway.
- Where can I find journal articles?
Current issues of print journals are shelved in alphabetical order
by title on the 1st floor. Older issues are bound and shelved by call
number in the regular stacks. Check the OSU
Library Catalog for individual journals' status.
Many journals are also offered in full-text via our website. Visit
the Full-Text Periodical Titles and Coverage List at www.library.okstate.edu/ftdb/index.htm
to see what we offer online.
- Can I bring food or drinks into the Library?
Yes, you may bring drinks with a secure lid and small snack items.
The Edmon Low Library even has its own cafe, Java Dave's, where you
can buy specialty coffees, blended beverages, sodas, water, and snacks.
Please eat and drink responsibly;
throw trash away.
- Can I be alerted about new articles in my discipline?
Yes, there are several alerting services. A full list can be found
at www.library.okstate.edu/database/alertservice.htm
with links to set up an alert with each. Alerts will come via email.
If you have questions about a particular service or setting up a profile,
contact Digital Library Services at lib-dls@okstate.edu
or (405) 744-9161 or toll-free outside Stillwater (877) 744-9161.
- Are there designated study areas?
The Library is sectioned into Group Study areas, for large groups
to meet and conversation is allowed; Quiet Study areas, for smaller
groups with moderate conversation; and Silent Study areas, where there
is no talking. There are also meeting rooms on the 1st and 2nd floors.
You can reserve these rooms at the Circulation Desk on the 1st floor.
We do ask that you turn pagers and cell phones to silent mode and
only use them in the lobbies or reference area.
- What if the book I need is checked out?
If you need a book that is checked out, you can place a recall on
the item at www.library.okstate.edu/forms/recallbk.htm.
A recall changes the due date to two weeks after the request is placed.
When the book is returned, you will receive an email and a letter.
The book will be held for you for ten days.
If a book you have checked out is recalled, you will receive notification
of the new due date. Remember to return recalled material on time.
The fine for past due recalled items is $5 a day.
- As an OSU Graduate Student, can I borrow books
from other Oklahoma libraries?
OSU-Stillwater is one of 35 institutions that take part in the OK-Share
program. Any eligible faculty, student or staff member may use the
collections of any OK-Share library on site. To participate complete
an OK-Share card application at the Circulation Desk. After receiving
an OK-Share card, you can be issued a courtesy card by any participating
OK-Share library. This courtesy card, with proper identification,
may be used to borrow materials.
- Can I work here?
Yes! The Library is the second largest student employer on campus.
Part-time jobs, including graduate assistantships, are listed at www.library.okstate.edu/personnel/.
Unlike assistantships for other colleges, the Library cannot offer
a GA tuition waiver. Library GAs are paid a monthly stipend only.
The Library's part-time application
process is completely paperless. You apply on-line.
- Are there any special programs at the Library?
The Library holds a variety of events geared to different audiences.
There are exhibits, lectures, readings, book clubs, discussions, and
dinners. Most of the Library events are free and open to the public.
For information on exhibits and upcoming events in the Library call
(405) 744-7331 or visit www.library.okstate.edu/news/calendar.htm.
Help accessing online journals & databases (405) 744-9161 or (877) 744-9161
toll free