Return to the OSU Library Home Page
Oklahoma State University Library
Return to the OSU Library Home Page Quick Guide to Using Style Manuals, APA Style

APA Style space MLA Style

This guide gives basic examples of APA style for references in a research paper. For a complete overview of APA style, consult:

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association Current edition is the 5th (2001). Published by the American Psychological Association. Reference Area
808.02 P976 2001
Electronic Reference Formats Recommended by the American Psychological Association Site contains most recently approved formats for electronic sources found in the 5th edition of the APA Manual. Internet Resource
http://www.apastyle.org/elecref.html

The following examples are taken from or are modified from examples from these guides. They are single-spaced to save space. See the References List at End of Paper section for the correct formatting.

Book Citation Format space Periodical Article Format space Full-text Journal Article from an Electronic Database
Internet Site Basic Format space References List at End of Paper

Book Citation Format:

Author. (Date). Book title. Publisher City: Publisher.

  • Multiple Authors
    Cone, J. D., & Foster, S. L. (1993). Dissertations and theses from start to finish:
            Psychology and related fields.
    Washington, DC: American Psychological
            Association.
  • Edited Book
    Gibbs, J. T., & Huang, L.N. (Eds.), (1991). Children of color: Psychological
            interventions with minority youth.
    San Francisco: Jossey-Bass.
  • Entry in an Encyclopedia
    Bergmann, P. G. (1993). Relativity. In The New Encyclopedia Britannica (Vol. 26, pp.
            501-508). Chicago: Encyclopedia Britannica.

Top of Page

Periodical Article Format:

Author. (Date). Article title. Periodical Title, volume # (issue number), page #s.

  • Journal Article, Continuous Pagination
    Bekerian, D.A. (1993). In search of the typical eyewitness. American Psychologist, 48,
            574-576.
  • Journal Article, Journal Paginated by Issue, 2 Authors
    Klimoski, R., & Palmer, S. (1993). The ADA and the hiring process in organizations.
            Consulting Psychology Journal: Practice and Research, 45 (2), 10-36.
  • Magazine article (For date, give year, month for monthlies; year, month and day for weeklies)
    Posner, M. I. (1993, October 29). Seeing the mind. Science, 262, 673-674.
  • Newspaper Article, Discontinuous Pages
    Schwartz, J. (1993, September 30). Obesity affects economics, social status. The
            Washington Post,
    pp. A1, A4.

Top of Page

Full-text Journal Article from an Electronic Database:

Basic format: Author. (Date). Article title. Periodical Title, volume # (issue #), page #s. Retrieved [month, day, year] from database.

  • Full-text Journal Article from Online (Web-delivered) Database
    Schneiderman, R. A. (1997). Librarians can make sense of the net. San Antonio
            Business Journal, 11
    (31), pp. 58+. Retrieved January 27, 1999, from General
            Business File database.

    Schaefer, B. E. (1998, December). Meteors that changed the world. Sky and
            Telescope, 96,
    68-75. Retrieved May 22, 2001, from Proquest PA
            Research II database.

    Chahbani, M. H., & Tondeur, D. (2001). Pressure drop in fixed-bed adsorbers.
            Chemical Engineering Journal, 81, 23-34. Retrieved May 22, 2001, from Science
            Direct database.

Top of Page

Internet Site Basic Format:

Include the author (if listed), title of the Web page and, in some cases, the title of the site on which the page is located, and date of creation or last update. If no date is given on the page, use "n.d" ("no date") in its place. Then add "Retrieved [date page was accessed] from [URL of the page]." Always include a date of retrieval, as Web pages might change or be deleted from a site.

  • Examples from APA Manual
    Chou, L., McClintock, R, Moretti, F, & Nix, D. H. (1993). Technology and education:
            New wine in new bottles: Choosing pasts and imagining educational futures.

            Retrieved August 24, 2000, from Columbia University, Institute for Learning
            Technologies Web site:
            http://www.ilt.columbia.edu/publications/papers/newwine1.html *
    * [NOTE: If the document is contained within a large and complex Web site (university or government agency), identify the host organization and the relevant program or department before giving the URL for the document itself. Precede the URL with a colon.]

    Glueckauf, R. L., Whitton, J., Baxter, J., Kain, J., Vogelgesang, S., Hudson, M., et al.
            (1998, July). Videocounseling for families of rural teens with epilepsy--Project
            update. Telehealth News, 2(2). Retrieved from
            http://www.telehealth.net/subscribe/newslettr_4a.html#1

    GVU's 8th WWW user survey. (n.d.). Retrieved August 8, 2000, from
            http://www.cc.gatech.edu/gvu/user_surveys/survey-1997-10/
  • Other Examples:

    Wessell, C. B. (1998). AIDS and HIV: Alternative medicine resources. The Alternative
            Medicine Homepage.
    Retrieved May 22, 2001, from
            http://www.pitt.edu/~cbw/hiv.html

    Greater New Milford (Ct) Area Health Community 2000, Task Force on Teen and
            Adolescent Issues. (n.d.) Who has time for a family meal? You do! Retrieved
            October 5, 2000, from http://www.familymealtime.org

    National Institute of Mental Health. (1997). Questions and answers about St. John's
            Wort.
    Retrieved May 22, 2001, from
            http://www.nimh.nih.gov/publicat/stjohnswort.html

    Chamberlain, Ellen. (2001, January). Bare bones 101: A very basic tutorial on
            searching the web. University of South Carolina, Beaufort Library. Retrieved May
            22, 2001 from http://www.sc.edu/beaufort/library/bones.html

Top of Page

References List at End of Paper

(See Chapter 4, "References List," in the APA Manual)

When writing a research paper in APA style, you need to list all your sources (cited as indicated in the examples above) in a References page that goes at the end of the paper.

"References" should appear as the heading on the first page containing the list of souces consulted. Entries should begin flush left, and the second and subsequent lines should be indented 5 spaces. Double-space the entire list as indicated in the example below:

Brown, H., & Milstead, J. (1968). Patterns in poetry: An

        introductory anthology.
Glenview, IL: Scott,

        Foresman.

Alphabetize by author's last name. For anonymous authors or where no author is given, begin the entry with the title. Capitalize only the first word of title and subtitle and proper names. Use italics instead of underlining.

Top of Page

Book Citation Format space Periodical Article Format space Full-text Journal Article from an Electronic Database
Internet Site Basic Format space References List at End of Paper

MLA Style space Return to Styles Guide space Return to Tutorials

Hours space Anywhere Library Access space EZProxy space Renew Online space Search This Site space OSU Home space Comments


URL: http://www.library.okstate.edu/guides/style/apa.htm
Last Updated: 28 August 2006