Return to the OSU Library Entry Page

Go To:
Find...
Services
About the Library
Giving
Library News

PsycINFO User's Guide

PsycINFO is the major database resource for identifying research in psychology and psychology-related disciplines. Learning about the database and how to search it efficiently can not only save you research time, it can help you identify the best sources of information for your research. As such, here are some tips and tricks that can assist you in making the best use of PsycINFO.

  1. Understand the differences between databases. There are three parts of the PsycINFO database.
    • PsycINFO -- The major database for psychology research, published by the American Psychological Association, 1872 -- present. As a default setting, when you enter PsycINFO, you will also be searching PsycARTICLES and PsycCRITIQUES.
    • PsycARTICLES -- A definitive source of searchable full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database contains more than 40,000 articles from 56 journals -- 45 published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and 11 from allied organizations. It includes all journal articles, letters to the editor and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1985 to present. (PsycARTICLES is included when you search PsycINFO.)
    • PsycCRITIQUES -- Each week PsycCRITIQUES releases 15 or more reviews of current books and films. In addition, the database contains book reviews previously published back to 1995. (PsycARTICLES is included with PsycINFO)
  2. Understand the composition of PsycINFO. Understanding what's in the database can help you to realize what you're likely going to find when you search PsycINFO.
    • 2.2 million records, updated weekly
    • 2,000 journals indexed and abstracted, composing 78% of the total database.
      • 98% peer-reviewed journals
      • 1,080 journals "cover to cover"
    • Book chapters = 7%
    • Authored/Edited Books = 4%
    • Dissertations = 11%
    • 27 foreign languages
  3. Understand Search Basics.
  4. Understand the PsycINFO Thesaursus.
    • PsycINFO has a thesaurus of subject headings available. Based on the Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms, 10th edition, it is updated to August 2005. It contains 7,900 controlled terms and cross-references.
    • Subject heading searches are more precise than keyword searches and can be combined to search PsycINFO more effectively.
  5. Understand the "Refine Search" options.

Contact Information:
Dan Chaney
Psychology Liaison Librarian
Humanities/Social Sciences Division
Edmon Low Library
Oklahoma State University
Stillwater, OK 74078-1071
Telephone: 405-744-9772
Email: dan.chaney@okstate.edu