PsycINFO "Refine Search" Options
PsycINFO, as an EBSCOhost database, allows users to tailor their search requests with targeted refinements on the "refine search" options. These refinements include: Linked Full Text, Peer Reviewed, Publication Type, English Only Results, Age Groups, Population Groups, and Methodology.
Linked Full Text: it is not recommended that you select this option, as it removes
full text options via
(Article
Linker.) There are many full-text resources that will be available in PsycINFO, but if you check the
Linked Full Text option, you won’t have direct access to them.
Peer Reviewed: You can check this option to limit your results to peer reviewed journals. Be aware, however, that 98% of the journals in PsycINFO are peer reviewed, so this option really won't limit your results too much.
Publication Type: You can limit your search results to specific types. For example, if you only want journal articles, PsycINFO allows you to limit your search to just journals.
- All
- All Journals
- Peer Reviewed Journals
- Non-Peer Reviewed Journals
- Peer-Reviewed Status-Unknown
- All Books
- Authored Book
- Edited Book
- Encyclopedia
- Dissertation Abstract
- Electronic Collection
English Only Results: If you are unable to read other languages, it’s probably wise to check the English results option. (Note: PsycINFO indexes 27 languages.)
Age Groups: allow you to select the age categories of individuals studied in the research, but doesn’t generally limit your results exclusively to that age group.
- Childhood (birth–12 years)
- Neonatal (birth – 1 month)
- Infancy (2-23 months)
- Preschool Age (2-5 years)
- School Age (6-12 years)
- Adolescence (13-17 years)
- Adulthood (18 years and older)
- Young Adulthood (18-29 years)
- Thirties (30-39 years)
- Middle Age (40-64 years)
- Aged (64 years and older)
- Very Old (85 years and older)
Population Group: Remember that psychologists are just as likely to study animals as humans.
- Human
- Animal
- Male
- Female
- Inpatient
- Outpatient
Methodology: This category allows you to select the category of research conducted.
- Clinical Case Study
- Empirical Study
- Experimental Replication
- Followup Study
- Longitudinal Study
- Prospective Study
- Retrospective Study
- Field Study
- Literature Review
- Mathematical Modeling
- Meta Analysis
- Nonclinical Case Study
- Qualitative Study
- Quantitative Study
- Treatment Outcome/Clinical Trial
Document Type: Odds are, you won’t need to consider tweaking the search for these document types.
- Abstract Collection
- Bibliography
- Column/Opinion
- Comment/Reply
- Editorial
- Encyclopedia Entry
- Erratum/Correction
- Letter
- Obituary
- Original Chapter
- Original Journal Article
- Publication Information
- Reprinted Chapter
- Reprinted Journal Article
- Review
