More Detailed Find Books
Typing in the Basic Search will search the Library Catalog for items that
literally match the letters and spaces entered from left to right in the
search box. This means that you must know the exact title or exact author.
Typing in the Keyword Search will search the Library Catalog for items that
include the words typed in the fields selected but not in a specific order.
Additionally, in Keyword Search you may add ? to the end of a word to find
alternate endings (e.g. toxic? Will retrieve items with the words toxic,
toxicology, toxicologist).
Information About Supplements to:
Articles and chapters within these titles are most often cited
as journal articles (article author, article title, journal title, volume,
issue, pages) however because each issue has an overall theme, we have cataloged
each issue by the individual title of the issue so that the entire issue
may be located in a keyword search of the Library Catalog. These may be checked
out as though they are books. These pages provide a list of the individual
titles, links to initiate a PubMed search to display the tables of contents
with the most recent articles first, and links to search the OSU Library
Catalog to see if the volume is checked out. Other series that are individually
cataloged include Methods in Enzymology and the supplements to the Compendium
on Continuing Education for the Practicing Veterinarian – we will develop
individual lists for these titles as time permits.
Detailed Find Journals
Finding Journals in OSU Library
Catalog
Search for the full name of the journal in the OSU Library
Catalog to display OSU Libraries subscription details. (Tools to
assist you with translating a journal title abbreviation into a full journal
title)
Some online and electronic journal subscriptions have records
in the OSU Library Catalog. The online links to some are in the same catalog
record that describes the print subscription with the Library Location “Electronic
Resource.” (JAVMA is an example of this.) Some online subscriptions
have their own record and have “computer file” (Journal of animal
breeding and genetics is an example of this) or “electronic resource” (Journal
of Ethology is an example of this) listed at the end of the journal title.
Additionally there are catalog records for electronic versions of journals
that are not online - in the Brock Memorial Library these are most often
items located in Veterinary Medicine Computer Reference (the journal ‘Swine
Health and Production is an example of this). Occasionally, a catalog record
will include the electronic address of a journal as part of the catalog record
information but this does not indicate that OSU has an online subscription
(Clinical orthopaedics and related research is an example of this).
Sources for Journal Title Abbreviations
Journals
Database in PubMed - Searchable list of the journal title abbreviations
used in PubMed. When searching PubMed, this link is always on the left
side of the screen. A print list of these abbreviations is located next
to the printer in the Brock Memorial Library. You may also FTP the PubMed
list, the National Library of Medicine Molecular Biology journal list (Entrez
databases including Nucleotide, Protein, and Genome), or the complete
Entrez list comprised of both of these from this link.
Science
Citation Index Journal Abbreviations - To search or view Science Citation
Index journal abbreviations, begin a Science Citation Index search using
the link above, then choose “Cited Reference Search” from the “Select
a Search” option on the initial search screen, then click the link “view
the Thomson ISI list of journal abbreviations” from the “Cited
Work” area in the center of the screen.
All
That JAS (Journal Abbreviation Sources) - This registry of web resources,
created at Iowa State University, that list or provide
access to the full title of journal abbreviations. All That JAS is divided
into subject areas including Veterinary
Medicine.
Detailed Find Articles
- Produced by CABI Publishing, CAB Abstracts provides comprehensive combined
online access to the indexes they also publish in print including Index
Veterinarius and Veterinary Bulletin. Subjects covered of interest to Veterinary
Medicine include: Animal Production, Animal Health, Animal Science, Aquaculture
and Fisheries, Biosafety and Bioterrorism, Biotechnology and animal and
plant breeding, Entomology, Helminthology, Invasive Species, Medicinal
Plants and Pharmacology; Mycology; Nematology; Parasitology; Protozoology;
and Veterinary Medicine. Additional
details about subject coverage
- Coverage includes indexing of journals, serial publications, conference
proceedings, books, theses, annual reports, patents & standards
- A list of serials abstracted and indexed is updated every three months. This is available in a downloadable text
file or searchable database at the CAB Abstracts Serials Cited webpage.
- Includes online thesaurus
- Covers 1900-present with over 7 million records. Many of the subsets of the
index are available in CABI’s paper format also. Ask at the Brock Memorial
Library for details.
- Produced by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), both PubMed and Medline
include indexing to the world’s biomedical sciences literature emphasizing
human medicine and including a core of veterinary medicine. For
details about the differences between PubMed and Medline consult this fact
sheet from NLM.
- EndNote and Reference Manager include import filters for PubMed and Medline
via Ebsco. Medline via Ebsco also includes an export to EndNote and Reference
Manager.
- Beginning your search at the OSU
specific PubMed link rather than the
shortened alias URL will display the "OSU get article" icon in your results.
This will link
you to OSU online subscriptions, library print holdings, and the document
delivery/interlibrary
loan request form.
- List of Veterinary
journals indexed in Medline compiled by Washington State University
- PubMed covers 1950-present with over 15 million records. Medline via
Ebsco covers 1960-present with over 12 million records.
- PubMed is updated continuously. Medline via Ebsco is updated daily.
- Indexing includes
over 4,500 international serial publications: journals, books, meetings,
and reviews from over 100 countries
- Subject coverage includes worldwide zoological and animal science literature.
Strengths include veterinary medicine (emphasizing zoological behavior,
ecology, reproduction, physiology, systemics, and zoogeography), taxonomy
and systematics; and biochemistry
- Quick Reference
Guide
- Includes online thesaurus of approximately 10,000 hierarchically arranged
terms within index, separate links to subject
and systematic thesaurus, and a
nomenclature glossary for zoology
- Covers 1978-present with over 1.5 million records
- Index is updated monthly
- More information about the
index
- SORA is a collaborative open access journal archive providing access to an extensive Ornithological literature of international scope, and detailed material documenting the history of Ornithology in North America over the last 120 years.
- Can search full-text of all journals (except Ornitología Neotropical) and all years or choose specific journal(s). May search by Keyword/Subject, Author, or Title. May limit search by publication date.
-
Users may search or browse the contents of: Auk (1884-1999), Condor (1899-2000),
International Wader Studies (1970-2002),
Journal of Field Ornithology (1930-1999), Journal of Raptor Research (1967-2005),
North American Bird Bander (1976-2000), Ornithological Monographs (1964-2005), Pacific Coast Avifauna (1900-1974), Studies in Avian Biology (1978-1999), Wader Studies Group Bulletin (1970-2004), Western Birds (1970-2004), Wilson Bulletin (1889-1999)
- Users may browse the contents of, but not search, Ornitología Neotropical, 1990-2002
- Simultaneously searches 8 data files creating the world’s largest
index to the wildlife literature including wild mammals, birds, reptiles,
and amphibians.
- Data files include: Wildlife Review Abstracts (1935 & earlier to
present) from NISC formerly called Wildlife Review from U.S. National Biological
Service; Swiss Wildlife Information Service (1974-present) from Federal
Office of Environment, Forests & Landscape and the University of Zurich;
Wildlife Database (1960-present) from U.S. Fish and Wildlife Reference
Service; BIODOC (1970-1999) from National University of Costa Rica; Waterfowl & Wetlands
Bibliography (Duckdata, 1838-2000) from U.S. Geological Survey; IUCN -
The World Conservation Union (1946 - present) from IUCN: The World Conservation
Union covering IUCN - Publications and IUCN – Reports; Natural & Cultural
Heritage of Africa (NATCHA) (1960 - present & earlier) from NISC South
Africa; Afro-Tropical Bird Information Retrieval Database (Afro-Tropical
BIRD) (20th Century to present some 1800s) from NISC South Africa
- Coverage 1838-present (depending on the data file, see above) with over
625,300 records
- Index is updated monthly
- For more information about the index, see
their fact sheet
- Simultaneously searches 10 data files covering ichthyology, fisheries,
and related aspects of aquaculture
- Data files include: FISHLIT (1985-present) from NISC South Africa; Fisheries
Review (1971-present) from NISC South Africa; Fish Subset of Medline (1966-present)
from National Library of Medicine; Fishing Industry Research Institute
(FIRI) from FIRI; Fish Database (1960-present) from Fish and Wildlife Reference
Service; Castell's Nutrition References (1970-present) from John Castell,
Dept. of Fisheries & Oceans, Canada; AQUACULTURE (1970-84) from National
Oceanic & Atmospheric Administration; Fish Health News (1978-85) from
U.S. National Fisheries Research Center (data from 1985-present now in
Fish Reviews)
- Coverage 1970-present (depending on the data file, see above) with over
427,000 records
- Index is updated quarterly
- For more information about the index, see
their fact sheet
- Full-text online encyclopedia of animals including information about
the animals, their nature, and their habitats. Includes images
- Please note, SciFinder Scholar 2004 software must be replaced with SciFinder
Scholar 2006 software!
- Indexing includes powerful search interface to journal article and patent
references, substance information, chemical reactions, regulated chemical
information, and commercially available substances. Detailed
coverage chart.
- Produced by Chemical Abstract Service: can simultaneously search CA Plus
(Chemical Abstracts Plus) covers 1907-present (plus over 600 records from
before 1907) updated daily, approximately 16% of this database is patent
abstracts; CAS Registry (structure database) covers 1957-date (plus some
substance classes back to early 1900s) updated daily; CAS React (Reaction
Search Service Database) covers 1907-present updated weekly; and Medline
covering 1951-present updated daily.
- This is the only database for which you, the searcher, must download
software to your computer. This database may not be accessed remotely – not
even through EZ Proxy – you must be on campus to access SciFinder
Scholar.
- Get more information
and download software. A Getting Started Tutorial is available online.
- Covers 1907-present with over 36 million records
- Updated daily
- The Citation Indexes provide a way to see what articles are citing or
cited by other articles. You can search for a particular author to see
their publishing pattern. You can search to see how often (and by whom)
their articles in total (or a particular article) are being cited by others.
You can also search for a particular article to see the citing patterns.
- To perform a citation search access the Web of Science with the link
above and then choose the search option ‘Cited Reference Search.’ If
you are familiar with citation searching but not in Web of Science 7.0 please
view this tutorial. If you are unfamiliar with cited reference searching please
see the introductory or comprehensive tutorials
or contact the library for assistance.
- Covers 1900-present
- Updated weekly
- JCR provides journal rankings, impact factors, total citations, cited
half-lives, and journal immediacy index.
- May be searched by subject category, specific journal title, publisher,
or country of publication. Subject
categories are described in scope notes
- If you are unfamiliar with performing JCR searches, please
review the tutorial
- Coverage 2002-2004. New data is released annually in July.
- Index to OVMA publications Oklahoma Veterinarian (1954-1990), The Journal
(1991-1992), and OVMA Communique (1987-2002) produced by the Brock Memorial
Library at the Oklahoma State University.
- Coverage 1954-2002
- Content is not currently updated. Product is in development – updates
are functional.
- A freely available computerized diagnostic support system for veterinary
medicine developed at the Cornell University College of Veterinary Medicine.
- “Necropsy Show and Tell is a collection of 35mm slide images of
necropsy specimens collected by Dr. John M. King at the Cornell College
of Veterinary Medicine over the past 30 years. Selected images have been
scanned into the computer and cataloged for your use in these pages. Searches
to find individual images are performed by searching on Keywords used to
catalog each of the images.”
- To search most effectively you will probably want to review
the help
- This tool includes a quiz function.
PrimateLit A
Bibliographic Database for Primatology
- PrimateLit includes citations from across all publication categories
(articles, books, abstracts, technical reports, dissertations, book chapters,
etc)
- Subject coverage for nonhuman primates includes behavior, colony management,
ecology, reproduction, field studies, disease models, veterinary science,
psychology, physiology, pharmacology, evolution, taxonomy, developmental
and molecular biology, genetics and zoogeography
- To search most effectively you will probably want to review
the help
- PrimateLit is a component of Primate
Info Network including a wide variety of nonhuman primate information
and is a collaborative project of the Wisconsin Primate Research Center,
the Washington National Primate Research Center, and The University of
Wisconsin-Madison Libraries.
- Coverage 1940-present
- A fee-based customized research and document delivery service for veterinary
medicine information from the Flower-Sprecher Veterinary Library at the
Cornell University College of Veterinary Medicine